For over 1,000 years the site of Suffolk 's Cathedral has been one of worship and pilgrimage. The death of Edmund, King of the East Angles, at the hands of the Danes in 869 led to the building of an abbey to house his remains. St James Church was built within the precincts of the Abbey, becoming a Cathedral in 1914. Work on the cathedral which began in 1503 was never finished leaving the tower a capped stump and the north transept and cloisters only partially built.
Thanks to the Dykes Bower bequest and the Millennium Commission, £7.8m was made available to begin the completion project.Further funding was raised by the general public and finally the project had the £12.8m it needed and the finish was in sight. The cathedral now boasts its new Millenium tower.
Pilgrims and tourists have been visiting the site of St Edmundsbury Cathedral for over a thousand years. Today, they offer all who come to the Cathedral a warm welcome, the opportunity to pray and the chance to explore on their own or as part of a tour.
The Cathedral is open daily from 8.00am to 6.00pm. There is no charge for admission but donations are always welcome.
Be one of the first to hear about our offers,
events & promotions. PLUS we’ll enter you into
our quarterly prize draw to win an overnight stay!